Office of Community Development

Fair Housing




Federal Law prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability or familial status when renting, selling or financing a home or property.


The laws that protect Fair Housing:


  • 1968 Federal Fair Housing Act
  • Federal Fair Housing Amendments Act
  • Florida Fair Housing Act
  • County and City Fair Housing Laws
  • Section 504 (disability only)
  • Title VI
  • ADA (disability only)




  • Refuse to rent or sell housing
  • Make Housing unavailable
  • Otherwise deny a dwelling
  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
  • Provide different housing services or facilities
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental
  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees
  • Discriminate in appraising property
  • If you or someone associated with you is regarded as having a disability:
  • Landlord may not refuse to allow a tenant to make reasonable modifications to your dwelling
  • A building with a “no pets” policy must allow a visually impaired tenant to keep a guide dog.
  • An apartment complex that offers tenants’ ample, unassigned parking must honor a request from a mobility-impaired tenant for a reserved space near his/her apartment if necessary to assure access to their apartment.




Contact Esther Bragg, Fair Housing Coordinator at 863-773-6349 or email


What we need from you:

  • Your name and address
  • The name and address of the person your complaint is against (the respondent)
  • The address or other identification to the housing involved
  • A short description to the alleged violation (the event that caused you to believe your rights were violated)
  • The date(s) of the alleged violation(s)


4741 Hits Since February 9th, 2015



icon1 icon2 icon3

themed image
themed image